Belmont Park 09/04/2014

Belmont Park was another small amusement park like Santa Monica Pier except the only interest I had here was a ride on the Giant Dipper roller coaster. This was just a quick credit stop before heading off to get some dinner but I did ride the Giant Dipper and explore the park a little bit. Besides it was literally five minutes from SeaWorld San Diego, great way to ride another coaster after SeaWorld closed for the day. Let’s check it out!

I've arrived at Belmont Park for a quick ride on the Giant Dipper!

I’ve arrived at Belmont Park for a quick ride on the Giant Dipper!

DSC07400

Apparently the Mission Beach area is celebrating a centennial this year.

The coaster looks very twisted.

The coaster looks very twisted.

Alright where to buy ride tickets?

Alright where to buy ride tickets?

DSC07397

Appears I’m in the right spot.

DSC07391

Inside the building where you buy the ride tickets there’s a little museum with a model of the Giant Dipper.

Appears I'm in the right spot.

Appears I’m in the right spot.

DSC07392

Landmark sign!

Guess there's no line tonight.

Guess there’s no line tonight.

DSC07377

The first drop is a nice twisted drop that has that great classic feel.

DSC07378

Here they go!

Hold onto that hat!

Hold onto that hat!

DSC07382

Hey put that phone away!

Giant Dipper was a fun classic coaster, nothing too exciting but it was definitely very good for it’s age. Good to see these classic coasters still running today.

A look down the strip of Belmont Park.

A look down the strip of Belmont Park.

Belmont Park has a carousel.

Belmont Park has a carousel.

DSC07388

The ice cream smell coming from here was just saying buy me but I was heading to dinner after this.

DSC07390

The tiny drop tower that Belmont Park has.

Some crazy flat ride that I was not going to try today.

Some crazy flat ride that I was not going to try today.

DSC07384

If I had time I totally would have tried the rock climbing wall though.

DSC07386

So fun little fact about the restrooms at Pacific Park and Belmont Park, yeah they might be tiny little parks but they had some of the cleanest restrooms I’ve ever seen.

DSC07385

Since there was no one in there, I snapped a quick picture. Very clean and modern looking.

 Belmont Park was a nice quick stop, not too much there but a decent way to spend a few hours especially if you want to ride more rides after Sea World closes. Nothing spectacular but worth a visit if you’re in the area especially with the historic Giant Dipper.

Leave a Reply

